I recently watched a lecture by Steven Heller, The Swastika: A Symbol Beyond Redemption?! The topic is one that I have always held in a type of morbid awe. As a human being I am appalled at the horrors suffered by so many people under the brutal Nazi leadership. But as an artist I am fascinated by how this symbol the swastika, so simple and unassuming has come only to represent this historical tragedy to many people. I would like to think that this ancient symbol can be revived with it’s positive meanings intact. However, I feel that there are still enough people in the world that hold fast to Nazi roots. These people have proven themselves in the past to go to great lengths to be an influence, why wouldn’t they fight against having their symbol of power taken over?

I am also unsure as to how you do something like that. How do you reclaim a meaning to a symbol. Do you send out a mass email, post it on the news, your facebook or wherever?  Dissemination of information has changed so much that it should be simple but I don’t think people, even people that have no real connection to it, would be so supportive unless many many people were reeducated about its ancient meanings.

Parts of me feel that the positive aspect of the swastika has been sullied beyond redemption because the Nazi community still exists. Other parts feel that there are more open minded people in the world today also so hopefully they would be able to take it back.

Leave a comment